Choir Activities

In addition to the rehearsals and the preparation of the concerts, the choir offers many opportunities to make new personal contacts, to volunteer or to do something together in the free time:

Retreats:

In spring and autumn regular choir retreat weekends take place and serve as an intensive preparation phase for the next concert. Participation in the retreats is a pre-requisite for anyone who would like to continue on to sing in the public concert events. The weekend retreats are normally held in the family retreat town “Dorfweil im Taunus”. (link to retreat page)

 

Get together after the concerts:

After the concerts, the social committee usually reserves seats in a restaurant for a cozy get-together. The interest in participation is requested in advance, friends and relatives are welcome, and a binding reservation is required.

„Bring-Parties“:

The first rehearsal after a concert is usually rehearsed until the break, and is typically followed by a “bring party”.  Everyone brings a little something to eat and / or drink for the buffet and we sit with delicious food and spend a bit of time together mingling.

 

Free time activities:

At irregular intervals, the social committee organizes joint ventures (for example, opera, concert or film visits, etc.) to which one can register.

 

Volunteering:

For the good organization and preparation of our concerts as well as the administration of the choir and the organization of the additional choral activities, we depend on the support of as many choir members as possible. We have a clear organizational structure, we work in teams and the individual tasks are clearly defined – from large to small – so that everyone can contribute according to their time available. More details can be found -> here (link to choral organization).

 

Choir Travel:

choir tours are organized at irregular intervals. These are joint projects with other choirs and / or composers with whom we give concerts together.

1999 the GACC first appeared abroad at the invitation of the American Church in Paris. There were “French choral works” listed.

2005 the GACC listed the “Caribbean Mass” of McClure in Siena.

2007 the GACC was guest in Vietnam (Hanoi and Saigon). Here the choir opened the German culture weeks at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut together with a choir and orchestra from Hanoi and presented “Die Schöpfung” by Haydn.

 

 

 

2010 the choir traveled to Bangkok. There they performed together with the Orpheus Choir of Bangkok under the musical direction of Somtow Sucharitkul Rossini’s “Petit Fair Solennelle”.

 

 

2016 the GACC gave a Christmas concert at the “Frankfurt German Christmas Market” in Birmingham, UK.

Chor-Aktivitäten

Neben den Proben und der Vorbereitung der Konzerte bietet der Chor viele Möglichkeiten neue persönliche Kontakte zu knüpfen, sich ehrenamtlich zu engagieren oder gemeinsam in der Freizeit etwas zu unternehmen:

Retreats:

im Frühjahr und im Herbst finden regelmäßig Chorwochenenden statt, die der intensiven Vorbereitung auf das nächste Konzert dienen und für jeden Pflicht sein sollten, der das Konzert mitsingen möchte. Die Wochenenden finden in der Familienferienstätte Dorfweil im Taunus statt. (link zur Retreatseite)

 

Get together nach den Konzerten:

nach den Konzerten reserviert das Sozialkommittee üblicherweise Plätze in einem Restaurant für ein gemütliches Beisammensein zum Ausklang. Das Interesse an einer Teilnahme wird vorher abgefragt, Freunde und Verwandte sind willkommen, eine verbindliche Anmeldung ist erforderlich.

„Bring-Parties“:

in der ersten Probe nach einem Konzert wird üblicherweise nur bis zur Pause geprobt. Anschließend gibt es eine „Bring Party“, d.h. jeder bringt eine Kleinigkeit zu essen und/oder zu trinken fürs Buffet mit und wir sitzen bei leckerem Essen noch etwas zusammen.

 

Freizeitaktivitäten:

in unregelmäßigen Abständen organisiert das Sozialkommittee gemeinsame Unternehmungen (z.B. Oper-, Konzert oder Filmbesuche o.ä.) zu denen man sich anmelden kann.

 

Ehrenamtliche Engagement:

für die gute Organisation und Vorbereitung unserer Konzerte sowie die Verwaltung des Chores und die Organisation der zusätzlichen Choraktivitäten sind wir auf die Unterstützung möglichst vieler Chormitglieder angewiesen. Wir haben eine klare Organisationsstruktur, es wird in Teams gearbeitet und die einzelnen Aufgabenfelder sind klar definiert - von gross bis klein - so dass sich jeder entsprechend seiner verfügbaren Zeit einbringen kann. Weitere Details findest Du -> hier (link zu Chororganisation).

 

Chorreisen:

in unregelmäßigen Abständen werden auch Chorreisen organisiert. Dies sind dann Gemeinschaftsprojekte mit anderen Chören und/oder Komponisten mit denen wir gemeinsam Konzerte geben.

1999 trat der GACC auf Einladung der American Church in Paris zum ersten Mal im Ausland auf. Es wurden „Französische Chorwerke“ aufgeführt.

2005 hat der GACC die "Caribbean Mass" von McClure in Siena aufgeführt.

2007 gastierte der GACC in Vietnam (Hanoi und Saigon). Hier eröffnete der Chor auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts zusammen mit einem Chor und Orchester aus Hanoi die deutschen Kulturwochen und präsentierte "Die Schöpfung" von Haydn.

 

 

 

2010 reiste der Chor nach Bangkok. Er führte dort zusammen mit dem Orpheus Choir of Bangkok unter der musikalischen Leitung von Somtow Sucharitkul Rossinis's "Petit Messe Solennelle" auf.

 

 

2016 gab der GACC ein Weihnachtskonzert auf dem „Frankfurt German Christmas Market“ in Birmingham, UK.