Slide 1
Image is not available
Image is not available
Image is not available
About The Tree

Unique in Germany...
"The Singing
Christmas Tree®"

The "Singing Christmas Tree" idea comes from America, where a first "Singing Christmas Tree" was presented in 1954 by the Charlotte Choral Society. Later the idea spread out in the USA and other countries. "The Singing Christmas Tree" of the GACC is the only one in Germany. Our original scaffold was designed by the corps of engineers of the American army, but in the meantime we have a modern scaffold 6,50m high, which gives space for 64 singers. Setting up the tree each year for Christmas is a complex project managed by an engaged team of choir members.

Image is not available
Repertoire

Our repertoire includes a wide range of German, American and international Christmas carols and sacred songs. An integral part of each program along with some other songs, is Warren Martin's "Christmas Medley". This arrangement was commissioned for the Charlotte Choral Society's Christmas program in 1967. It is a sonorous Christmas tribute that traditionally forms the powerful finale to any Singing Christmas Tree concert before ending with "Silent Night".
Warren Martin was head of the music theory department at Westminster Choir College, New Jersey, where Doris Cross, founder and musical director of the German-American Community Choir, studied from 1973 to 1978.

Image is not available
Concert organization
Several teams of choir members invest a lot of time each year to make the Tree concerts happen. This includes the set up of the tree with the organization of the required trades such as scaffolders, carpenters, decorators, electricians and the structural engineers for the acceptance test as well as taking care of the safety measures and regulation compliance. Also important are the preparation of the capes, the organization and instruction of the external helpers, procuring the music and last but not least all the public relation activities to make the concerts a success.
Image is not available
External Helpers
For the concerts we enjoy support from many external helpers, who take care of ticket control, CD sales, support of handicapped people a.s.o. The helpers can watch the concerts for free and many are already Tree fans for years.
The Singing Christmas Tree 2020 - canceled

Upcoming Concert:

We're still standing
An evening celebrating Elton John

Date: Saturday May 14th, 2022 - 7:30 pm

Direction: Wolfgang Runkel


Alluding to the popular song title "I'm still standing", the German-American Community Choir e.V. offers a lively, colorful evening with music and songs by Elton John and wants to show and prove to its audience that after 2 years of the Corona break they want to help shape the cultural program in the Rhein-Main area again! Let yourself be surprised by the arrangements that invite you to experience well-known songs in a new way.


We are looking forward to seeing you at our next concert!
For actual information please also follow us on Facebook....

Tree Up Close

The Singing Christmas Tree® - Up Close

The only way to truly experience The Singing Christmas Tree is up-close and personal. What sets it apart from a typical choir experience is that each voice comes directly at you. Every one of the 100+ voices are unobstructed, reaching your ears with bountiful pleasure.

Slide 1
Image is not available
Image is not available
Image is not available
About The Tree

Einmalig in Deutschland...
"The Singing
Christmas Tree®"

Die Idee des "Singing Christmas Tree" kommt aus Amerika, wo 1954 der erste "Singing Christmas Tree" von der Charlotte Choral Society vorgestellt wurde. Später verbreitete sich die Idee in den USA und anderen Ländern. "The Singing Christmas Tree ™" des GACC ist der einzige in Deutschland. Das ursprüngliche Gerüst wurde vom Ingenieurskorps der amerikanischen Armee entworfen. In der Zwischenzeit wurde es jedoch durch ein modernes Gerüst von 6,50 m Höhe, das Platz für 64 Sänger bietet, ersetzt. Der Aufbau zu Weihnachten ist jedes Jahr ein komplexes Projekt, das von einem engagierten Team von Chormitgliedern geleitet wird.

Image is not available
Repertoire

Unser Repertoire umfasst eine große Auswahl an deutschen, amerikanischen und internationalen Weihnachtsliedern und geistlichen Liedern. Ein integraler Bestandteil jedes Programms ist neben einigen anderen Liedern Warren Martins "Christmas Medley". Sein Arrangement wurde 1967 für das Weihnachtsprogramm der Charlotte Choral Society in Auftrag gegeben. Es ist eine klangvolle Weihnachts-Hommage, die traditionell das kraftvolle Finale eines Singing Christmas Tree-Konzerts bildet, bevor es mit "Silent Night" endet.
Warren Martin war Leiter der Theorie-Abteilung im Westminster Choir College, New Jersey, wo Doris Cross, Gründerin und musikalische Leiterin des German-American Community Choir, zwischen 1973 und 1978 studierte.

Image is not available
Konzertorganisation
Mehrere Teams von Chormitgliedern investieren jedes Jahr viel Zeit, um die Tree-Konzerte möglich zu machen. Dies beinhaltet den Aufbau des Trees mit der Organisation der erforderlichen Gewerke wie Gerüstbauer, Tischler, Dekorateure, Elektriker und des Statikers für die Abnahmeprüfung sowie die Einhaltung der Sicherheitsmaßnahmen und der gesetzlichen Vorschriften. Genauso wichtig sind auch die Vorbereitung der Umhänge, die Organisation und Unterweisung der externen Helfer, die Beschaffung der Musik und nicht zuletzt die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, um die Konzerte zu einem Erfolg zu machen.
Image is not available
Externe Helfer
Bei den Konzerten unterstützen uns viele externe Helfer, die sich um Ticketkontrolle, CD-Verkauf, Unterstützung von Behinderten usw. kümmern. Die Helfer können die Konzerte kostenlos verfolgen und viele sind schon seit Jahren "Tree"-Fans.
The Singing Christmas Tree 2020 - canceled

The Singing Christmas Tree 2022

Termin vormerken:

2. Advent Wochenende in der Frauenfriedenskirche, Frankfurt
Details folgen in Kürze....


Wir freuen uns auf Euren Besuch!
Für die aktuellsten Informationen folgt uns auf Facebook....

Tree Up Close

The Singing Christmas Tree® - Up Close

Die einzige Möglichkeit, The Singing Christmas Tree wirklich zu erleben, ist hautnah und persönlich. Was ihn von einer typischen Chor Erfahrung unterscheidet ist, dass jede Stimme direkt bei Ihnen ankommt. Der Klang jeder einzelnen der 100+ Stimmen kann sich frei entfalten und Ihr Ohr ungehindert erreichen.